Shlichus – What is your Mission?


Is this me or what?

The following was sent to me by my Rabbi.

Groaning by itself won’t do a bit of good. A groan is only a key to open the heart and eyes, so as not to sit there with folded arms, but to plan orderly work and activity, each person wherever he can be effective, to campaign for bolstering Torah, spreading Torah and the observance of Mitzvot. One person might do this through his writing, another with his oratory, another with his wealth.
Compiled and arranged by the Lubavitcher Rebbe, Rabbi Menachem Mendel Schneerson

While the “quote” is talking about repairing the world, tikkun olam, through Torah and in a Jewish context, my question to you is what do you do to make this world a better place, regardless of religious affiliation, and get people to join in the repairing and  improving  of our world?

Why did I write “is this me or what?”. Well, without going into too much detail in this post, over the last two years or so it has been my “mission”, or more specifically my mission in a Jewish context, to get people to understand the joy in Judaism and Yiddishkeit, and how it can help them analyse their life, better understand it and vastly improve their outlook of daily living.  I have also incorporated into my shlichus (mission) to try and get people to understand that one must not just give and receive in life, but share.  Please see my blog post on sharing https://scribblepr.wordpress.com/2010/10/22/parshat-noach/.

So again, what your mission or shlichus in life. Make it unique and your own. We all have talents we can use to repair the world around us.

By the way I have been sharing, volunteering, helping, engaging etc.. for may years, but not necessarily in a Jewish context. Remember, I am a growing baal teshuvah. You can probably tell from the shift in my blogs focus.

Leave a Reply

