Holy in Yiddish


Heylik.

Today I was trying to congratulate someone and say: He is a “holy Lubavitcher”. I was looking for how to say this in Hebrew. I was told by my Rabbi that it might be more appropriate to use the Yiddish word heylik. So, I can now say heylik Lubavitcher or holy Lubavitcher.

In Hebrew one might use the word “kadoshim”. I am still not 100% sure on this, but the peson who told me is really smart so I’m not sure.  I was told this word “kadoshim” is better left to describe a righteous or holy who has passed on. I’ll stick with the Yiddish, I think.

holy act = heylik akt
holy work = heylik arbetn

Leave a Reply

